Going gray

I was about 16 years old when I got my first gray hair. I’d never even noticed it until I wore my hair up one day and my mom, happening to glance at me, stopped and exclaimed, “Ohmigosh, Trina, you have a gray hair!” So it happened early—high school.

At first I was a bit nonplussed, but I don’t think I’ve ever really minded. My face is so baby, and people have always thought I’m younger than I actually am, so I figured a few grays might lend some authority to my otherwise wide-eyed demeanor. (In theory, at least.) Plus this way I would never have to angst over getting my first gray.

Now I’ve always aspired to be one of those women who age gracefully, who earn their beauty, who wear their years with a radiance that can’t be bought in a tube or a compact. But I have to admit that for a while, I used to bust out the Nice ‘n Easy and color my hair at home. Eventually, though, I began to think, You know what? It is what it is—and I began to just let it grow out and be.

Following the custom that once a woman goes totally gray, she cuts her hair short, I used to think that when I went totally gray, I’d get my hair cut like this:

This piece-y ‘do is so flattering on Michelle Williams. I like the tousled look.

But then I saw this photo below in MORE magazine. Somehow it totally changed my perception of how to wear long gray hair, which heretofore I’d always pictured as kind of grizzled.

Hey, if this woman can rock shoulder-length gray hair, why can’t I? That’s pretty much how I wear my hair anyway! I like the layers and movement and (surprise) the piece-y look of it too.

In the meantime I’m reconciling myself to the reality of seeing more and more gray strands appear amid my natural black. I’m trying to convince myself that they’re sparkles.

(via InStyle and MORE)

Update: “How to Go Gray Naturally,”  from Huff/Post 50.

1 Comment

Filed under Beauty

One response to “Going gray

  1. Pingback: Flashback ’90s | Under an Artichoke

Leave a Reply

