The vintage Fiat 500 card

The vintage Fiat 500 is possibly my dream car. Ever since I first saw Eddie Albert careening around in one snapping pictures of Audrey Hepburn in Roman Holiday, the sight of a vintage Cinquecento just makes me giggle—especially the big-man-in-wee-car juxtaposition. Plus the car’s so cute I want to put it in my pocket. (Side note: I am not feelin’ the new J. Lo version.)

So imagine what a kick I get out of the Italian Driving Insults card by Claudine’s Calling on Etsy. I have one propped up on one of my bookshelves at work.

Toronto-based Etsy artisan Claudine Crangle learned some of the driving insults firsthand after spending a year living in Rome…something I’d dearly love to do myself someday. To create this card, she hand-cut and drew designs to print on natural linen stock. I like the scrapbook-y look of it.

My favorite insult has to be “‘Ma che c’hai? Gli occhi foderati di prosciutto?!’ (What, you blindfolded with ham?!)” No expletives, just another Italian reference to food. Love it.

4 thoughts on “The vintage Fiat 500 card

  1. I just found your blog via my daughter Claudine Crangle . It’s wonderful, I will bookmark it if I may, I will enjoy reading from the start. You obviously are also a fan of Audrey Hepburn, great music and your photography & artwork is a joy. The Artichoke lesson is lovely. A favourite food
    Just from browsing, I know your blog has a lot to offer. I now know I am an introvert.

    Many thanks

    1. Oh, thank you so much for visiting! Claudine’s cards are such a delight. In fact, I *just* sent the last Italian Driving Insults card I was hoarding to a kindred spirit I met on a transatlantic flight to Rome.

  2. Grazie a te, Claudine! You’re the first to comment on my spanking-new blog. :) And thanks too for the cards from the raffle; I’ve already written and sent one off.

  3. Trina!
    Imagine my delight when I came across this post about my little card! Your blog is a hoot – and I too dream of owning a fiat 500 some day… they are so adorable.
    Grazie mille!! Claudine

Leave a Reply

