New bike

 

Apparently I am a total sucker for the romantic “savor life” image of a Dutch-style city bike with a basket holding a baguette, a bouquet of fresh flowers, and a bottle of wine.

So I recently pounced on a year-end sale of the standard PUBLIC Bikes C7 (pictured), which I’ve had my eye on ever since I read Joanna Goddard’s post on her new PUBLIC M3 this past August.

I haven’t ridden a bike regularly since my old Diamondback in high school. These days, though, the more I see people commuting to work by bike (and getting exercise and saving gas and car wear-and-tear that way), the more I want to join them. Even if I feel acutely like a total bike newbie. “Try not to crash” and “bike regularly” make up my current mantra.

My plan for now is to hop on my bike when running errands or visiting friends around town, just so I get used to being in the saddle again and chuffing up the hills where I live. I figure if I do something every day, eventually I’ll build up to being able to make the 10-mile ride to and from work.

On my radar I have On Bicycles: 50 Ways the New Bike Culture Can Change Your Life, edited by Momentum Magazine cofounder Amy Walker, and a used copy of Roni Sarig and Paul Dorn’s The Bike to Work Guide. But are there other particular reads or orgs you recommend for both inspiration and learning about bike culture?

(Photo: PUBLIC Bikes)

One thought on “New bike

  1. Pingback: The workout wagon | Under an Artichoke

Leave a Reply

