Anne of Green Gables redux

When I was a little kid living in a small, rural town, the highlight of my week was a Saturday-morning trip to the nearest B. Dalton Bookseller. I used to love poring over the next installation in whatever my favorite series of the moment happened to be. After stints with The Baby-Sitters Club and Sweet Valley Twins, I eventually discovered the Anne of Green Gables series by L.M. Montgomery.

You remember that scene in You’ve Got Mail where Kathleen Kelly (Meg Ryan) talks raptly about her mom running a children’s bookstore?

“It wasn’t that she was just selling books, it was that she was helping people become whoever it was they were going to turn out to be. Because when you read a book as a child it becomes part of your identity in a way that no other reading in your whole life does.”

That’s the way I feel about the Anne books.

I still love the Kevin Sullivan film version of Anne of Green Gables too and pop it into the DVD player whenever I want to snuggle under a blanket and watch something cozy.

So when my friend Andy sent me this link yesterday to the Texts from Avonlea Tumblr with the comment, “I thought of you and only you when I saw this,” I’m like, Sweet! You know me too well, haha! But then…on closer look…wait a sec…

“Quick, say it’s Roy Gardiner.”

What the.

I’m torn between helpless giggles over this spoof and indignation over the others (“Hey, don’t be mockin’ my childhood idol like that!”). Wah, it’s just wrong, wrong I tell you! Ruefully I have to admit I feel a little like someone just informed me that the patter of feet through the house on Christmas morning was really my dad scurrying to fill the stockings before I woke up, and not a jolly round man in a red suit.

But the Roy Gardiner reference did crack me up.

(Anne books photo by Kimberlee Conway Ireton; bottom photo via Texts from Avonlea)

P.S. “WHERE MY THIRTY-SEVEN DOILIES AT?” Because you can’t keep house with only 36 doilies…

One thought on “Anne of Green Gables redux

Leave a Reply

