Date night solo

Things have been a little hectic lately, so when the San Francisco Ballet posted a Leap Day discount to its production of Romeo & Juliet, I pounced. Time to take myself out for another little date! I can hardly wait to see the corps perform Prokofiev’s “The Montagues and the Capulets” (Dance of the Knights)—the first time I heard that piece of music, I was basically stunned. Waves of music just rolled over me even in the nosebleed section of Davies Symphony Hall; the SF Symphony had performed it a few summers ago as part of their annual program of Russian classics, and I remember just being floored by its ominous power.

Before the show, I’m hoping to go check out Two Sisters Bar and Books in Hayes Valley. Always like to hit someplace new (and add a business card plus a description of the place into my current scrapbook). Two Sisters sounds cool and fun: a cozy cafe with books galore that you can read while you sip a drink and enjoy small bites like deviled eggs with lemon zest, fried capers, and black truffles. I can hardly wait.

Leave a Reply

