This generation’s break-up songs

In my teen years, the break-up song of choice was R.E.M.’s “Everybody Hurts.” Which, when you think about it, is really a wallow-in-your-misery kind of song, an in-the-middle-of-it kind of pain. But these days the break-up banner seems to be shared by two songs, which I’ll admit I like to belt out in the privacy of my car.

“Somebody That I Used To Know” by Gotye feat. Kimbra

“Someone Like You” by Adele

Judging from clips I saw of Gotye’s set at Coachella this past weekend, though, other peeps have no problem singing along in public—the refrain becomes an anthem. It’s pretty special when an artist can articulate unspoken emotions that people immediately identify with. I like, too, that both musicians sing it from the perspective that time affords. Plus I like that with Gotye and Kimbra you hear the other side of story, which you never really do in real life.

Leave a Reply

