Now this is a class I could get behind! I’ve eyed The Basics (Series I and II) and Tante Marie’s for ages and recognize Liano’s name as having previously been a lead instructor for those series, so it’s exciting to have another option in that regard—particularly one that seems to be focused on technique. But I have to fess up that I’d feel obligated to work through, say, Mark Bittman’s How to Cook Everything: The Basics first, just so I could get a very basic background in the how-tos before splashing out $$$ on a course. I’m a little embarrassed by my cooking ignorance, given how much I enjoy eating (out) and reading about food, but we’ve all got to start somewhere, right? And I may as well start by learning the right way to do things instead of just guessing through my own trial and error.

Leave a Reply

