Ice cream as medicine

Well, technically sorbet, not ice cream. But why quibble over details? Influenza_Pint_web__76291.1325274097.460.504Jeni’s Splendid Ice Creams has just come out with a flavor to battle the “death flu” that’s been going around this season. So far I haven’t succumbed to that flu in particular, but I’ve been grappling with the last vestiges of a wretched cold that’s also been going around, which my doc informed me has been lasting about two to three weeks for everybody. Great.

Anyhoo, Influenza Sorbet is made of orange and lemon juices, cayenne, ginger, Maker’s Mark bourbon, and honey. Jeni’s says of the concoction, “This is our flu-season fix. It’s proven to clear nasal passages, ease a sore throat, and soothe the body. It’s modeled on the home remedy my mother and grandmother made when anyone in the family was under the weather.” Cold cure, who knows, but I’ll take it—if I can find a local market that carries it.

(via Jeni’s Splendid Ice Creams)

Update: Jeni’s has renamed Influenza Sorbet; it is now called Hot Toddy Sorbet and is sold seasonally only in Jeni’s scoop shops and online.

3 thoughts on “Ice cream as medicine

    1. Haha, well, Jeni’s *just* came out with a PSA saying they changed the name to “Hot Toddy Sorbet,” to avoid giving the impression that the sorbet actually cures (or contains) the flu. I get that they wanna avoid the double entendre, but still I like the original name better. Just sums it all up, you know?

      And really, I welcome any excuse to eat sorbet. Or ice cream. :)

Leave a Reply

